Diamonds and The Four C’s

The value of a diamond differs widely from one diamond to another. Experts evaluate for rarity and beauty using four primary guidelines. These guidelines, called the 4Cs, represent Cut, Color, Clarity and Carat Weight. Diamonds with the combination of the highest 4C ratings are more rare and, consequently, more expensive. It is important to note that each of the 4Cs will not diminish in value over time.

Diamond Cuts

When you think of the cut, you probably think of shape of the stone. You are partially correct. While cut does refer to shape it also refers to the proportions of how the diamond is actually cut. The overall proportions, as well as the size and placement of its many reflective surfaces or facets, also play a large part in “cut”.

Cut is the single most important determination of beauty, and the one element that is directly affected by human skill and expertise. More than any other quality, cut determines the fire and brilliance of a diamond.

Carat Weight

The size is measured not by its dimensions, but by its weight. One carat, the traditional unit of measurement, is equal to approximately 0.2grams. You may also hear the weight referred to in points. A point is equal to 1/100 of a carat; therefore,  75-points equals 0.75 carats or ¾ of a carat.

Diamonds of equal weight may appear slightly different in size, depending on their proportions. Because they are quite rare, larger diamonds of gem quality are much more valuable

Diamond Color

Clarity is measured by the existence, or absence of inclusions or blemishes under 10 x magnifications. To view inclusions, jewelers use a microscope or magnifying eye loupe. Most diamonds contain natural inclusions which were formed during the crystallization process. The type, size, position and quantity of these inclusions determine the clarity of the diamond. Truly flawless diamonds are exceptionally rare.

Diamond Clarity

Inclusions are ranked on a scale of perfection, which was established by the Gemological Institute of America (GIA). The clarity scale, ranging from F (Flawless) to Included (I), is based on the visibility of inclusions at a magnification of 10 x.

As long as these inclusions do not affect the passage of light through the diamond they will not substantially affect the beauty. Each stone is as unique as the individual who wears it.

Diamond Shapes

We have an extensive selection of different cuts in settings as well as loose stones. We’ll walk you through each diamond and tell you the specifics of it’s cut, clarity, carat weight, and color.

More information on diamonds can be found at the Gemological Institute of America’s website